Easter weekend in Paris

Today Shane and I made a rather alarming plan for the remaining five weeks of our degrees. Dear god. So I thought that just before I charge forward into working chaos, I would look back to my recent trip, to Paris over the Easter weekend and the inspiring and fabulous things I encountered.

Our hotel had a terrace with a brilliant view

Easter Sunday brought rain to Paris, so what better place to take cover than the Pompidou Centre. I love the industrial almost geometric structure of the building.

I had seen pictures of Astuko Tanaka’s ‘Robe Electrique’ but it really is more impresive in life. It lights up periodically, with tubes and bulbs and colour and fun.

Cristina Iglesias had a room called ‘untitled passage’ which had amazing weaving in it, really intricate and organic. I saw an exhibition of her’s years ago, so was really happy to see some more work here.

I hid out in the room with Angela Bulloch’s ‘Hybrid Song box’ for a while. The colours radiating around the room where somber and beautiful.

I also loved Tracey Emin’s ‘Family Suite’, Jana Sterbak’s meat dress, Patrick Jouin’s ‘substance of design’ and an exhibition of female artworks. brill.

I took my camera with me when we went wandering…

a furniture re-upholstery shop opposite our hotel with beautiful hand-rendered type.

The moulin Rouge was round the corner. I suspect more grand at night.

Grumpy Tourist.

I got some brilliant vintage bits, check em out on Charity Shop Peacock.

In other news, I have joined the 21st century and got twitter. follow me. The website  for ‘Don’t be sad’ -the exhibition I am a part of in June is now online. Check that out, its a pretty exciting and nerve-wracking time. Stick with me, and hopefully I shall make it.

x

Leave a Reply

