The beginning of the end…

Some preliminary drawings for my degree show pieces. The subject is homophobia in the black community, namely Jamaica. I am using phallic and homoerotic imagery to display how wrong the hypocrisy involved in the indoctrinated hatred within the community is. I’m all for equal love.

The finished drawings will feature the themes of music, youth culture and society and religion. I have pretty much finished the first of three final pieces today, (involving felt, coloured paper and wait for it…glitter) so though I’d show some of the development work. You may recognise matey in the middle. I have re-worked a photograph of my brother from years ago. He seemed to work for this project…

Leave a Reply

