Showing off

So I’m writing this amongst boxes in my room in Bath, as I start the move out of this week. I have been incredibly lax in blogging, but I assure you this has not been due to a lack of activity. The Friday before last was my degree show, which was amazing fun, sunny and well attended. Unfortunately due to the cuffuffle of showing of my dress and sipping on pimms I failed to gain any photographic evidence. My darling mother did however, so some shall arrive shortly. I exhibited three drawings, based on homophobia in the Jamaican community using phallic and overtly proud gay imagery to belittle and undermine this horribly accepted hypocrisy. Here are two of said drawings…

They are made using pencil, coloured pencil and paper collage, and are each a1, which was a challenging but satisfying undertaking. I’d like to sy a big thankyou for all the wonderful people that showed up to support our final show in Bath, you know who you are and it means so much. If you want to get a gander of these in person, come on down to ‘Ephemeral’- Blackall Studios, 73 Leonard Street Shoreditch, London, EC2A 4QS. Its a chance to exhibit Bath graduate work in London, which means a lot to me, being my home town, and the town I am returning to with dreams of domination! haha. Its on from the 25th – 30th June The private view The private view is this Thursday 24th and its Open Daily 10am – 6pm. I will be there wearing a loud jacket and sipping on fizz along with my many talented cohorts!!

In other showing off news, ‘Don’t be sad’; our exhibition in Bristol’s ‘Here Shop and Gallery’ is now up!! so get down and see it people. If your not in Bristol heres some snaps (of a shocking quality I’m afraid) of my work…

They are a series of drawings and paintings based around Richard Yate’s classic revolutionary road, The frames and a vintage little lampshade that hangs above (not pictured) give towards the theme of mundane and tragic domesticity. The space looks brilliant, so check it out it won’t dissappoint.

Keep following me here and on twitter, its an exciting time and there’s lots going on.  and for details of London fun look here http://ephemeralshow.co.uk/

xx

Leave a Reply

